More Interesting Info

May 3, 2009

Newsletter 05/03/2009

Filed under: newsletter — seniorgeek @ 7:54 pm

After a few week’s vacation from publishing the newsletter, I am back and ready to give you guys the most interesting info I can find. Actually I have not had a day off since March 5th (work Mon – Fri, umpire Sat and Sun) and now I finally can relax a bit.

Here is some fun to do when it is raining outside and you are bored. Just go online an create your own Garfield comic strip. Since it rained here most of the day, it would have been a great day to create my version of Garfield. Of course I was busy looking up great sited for this newsletter.
http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/public/sleep/starslp/missionz/comic.swf

In my last newsletter I asked for help in deciding what car to purchase from the short list I included. Many of you emailed me your choice and a few posted their choice on my blog. I have made my selection and take delivery of my new car on Monday. But first, there were a number of webs sites that I consulted before I made my decision. The following is a recap of some of the sites I visited and you may want to save these sites to use when you are in need of a new vehicle.

The first thing that shows up when shopping for a new car is this thing called ‘sticker shock’. Since it had been about 7 years since I purchased new car, the window sticker which has all the important information on the car your are looking at, also shows you the MSRP. WOW those four letters have really changed in 7 years. OK, since no one pays the MSRP, what is an acceptable price for the vehicle? The answer is in the following link. Truecar has done its research and has compiled the average price that is being paid for each type of vehicle based on recent car sales data.
http://truecar.com/release/index.html

Next checkout Edmonds. This site has just about everything you need to research your next purchase. They rate cars by value, cost, performance, reliability and many other criteria. Select what need and let Edmonds find the best vehicle, or just read reviews, look at car prices, or just join the automotive related social site.
http://www.edmunds.com/index.html

The old standbys for new and used car prices are NADA and Kelly Blue Book. They have been in existence for as long as I can remember and are considered the authoritative on the subject. Both have web sites for you to research both new and used car prices and are both worth a visit before you next purchase.
ttp://kellybluebook.com
http://nada.com

Remember Henry Ford, who said “you can have any color as long it is black” as he referred to the production of the Model T. It seems like things are going back in that direction as most all the options are either on the car or are not available as an option. This was very evident as I was shopping and trying to compare makes and models especially with the Japanese manufactures.

Ok, drum roll please ….. I purchased a left over 2008 Mazdaspeed 3 Grand Touring. One more thing it is blue and not black. Henry is not around now.

A note from Mark Twain.
“Suppose you were an idiot. And suppose you were a member
of Congress. But then I repeat myself.“

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

