More Interesting Info

January 3, 2010

Newsletter 1/3/2010

Filed under: newsletter — seniorgeek @ 4:19 pm

Welcome to year 2010. What will this year have in store for us? Hopefully we will see an improvement in the job market, stabilization of house prices, and less government intervention in personal affairs (wishful thinking).

One of my resolutions from past years continues on and has served me well. The resolution of not paying more than necessary for anything. I search, bargain, squabble, and deal to get the best price on stuff I need and/or want. To that extent, I do have some help from a few web sites. If you are looking for computer related items check out these sites:
www.Slickdeals.net , http://www.Pricewatch.com. For all the rest of the items you might need, check out the following: http://www.dealnews.com and http://www.cheapism.com.

Cell phone are great when you are not is a ‘dead zone’. On your routing travels you know where the dead zones are, but what about an area you are not familiar? This site has a searchable database of over 100,000+ cell phone carrier comments submitted voluntarily from real customers all over the U.S. This site strives to have relevant feedback of places where your phone most likely will get little or no reception.
http://www.deadcellzones.com

I am a magazine fan. I don’t ever have time to sit down and read a book, so I rely on magazines for reading material. Their short articles are about the right length for me before something takes its place on my to do list. I use to get many via the friendly USPS but I don’t want to waste all those trees or basically the time to remove them from the stack of old out of date unread ones to the trash. I just go to my favorite magazine web site. OK, now you ask how do I find the magazine web site? All you have to do is check out the following web site for a list of all the free magazines that you will ever have time not to read.
http://www.maggwire.com

I always find myself at a location where it would be nice to have access to my computer at home. A Virtual Private Network(VPN) is the best way to access your home or work computer from a remote location. Next you are going to say, ‘that is way too complicated from me’. Actually it isn’t. There are 2 VPN applications that you can use on your computer that work very well and are very secure so you don’t have to worry. Each is easy to set up even for the novice. I have used both and don’t have a preference as each works well. Oh, they are both free.
http://easy-vpn.comodo.com
https://secure.logmein.com/products/hamachi2

The next item is a big concern for all Windows users, virus and malware. I know you probably either bought Symantec/Norton Antivirus or McAfee Antivirus or maybe you are using the freeware version of AVG Antivirus. Now I am going to say something that you are not going to believe. You DON’T need to buy any of these for your computer. Microsoft has 2 programs that are free for all users called Windows Defender and Microsoft Security Essentials. Windows Defender will be installed on your computer if you do the regular scheduled updates. If now you can download and install it. Next is Microsoft Security Essentials. I use this at work and home and have found it to be as good as any commercial program on the market. From ‘Lifehacker’ – “You don’t have to take my word for it, however. Not only did AV-Test.org find that it detects 98% of their enormous malware database, but AV-Comparatives (a widely known anti-malware testing group) found that MSE was one of only three products that did well at both finding and removing malware, including the leftovers. It was also the only free product to grab their “Advanced+” rating—the top honor for an anti-malware solution.”
http://www.microsoft.com/Security_Essentials

Have a great new year and I hope my little tidbit of a newsletter makes next year a better year for you.
“Remember the secret to success is consistency to purpose” (Benjamin Disraeli)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

